2009 RoughRider National Offensive Player of the Year

Tim Tebow had a "down" year compared to what people thought he would have. Colt McCoy got to play against a terrible Big XII and warmed up only late in the year. Jacory Harris had Miami going great in the beginning of the year, and stumbled lately. Notre Dame struggled even when Jimmy Clausen put up some good numbers.

But the 2009 RoughRider will go to the best player in the nation in 2009. Stanford running back Toby Gerhart. Gerhart rushed for 1736 in the 12 games for the 8-4 Cardinal. His biggest numbers came against the best teams. 200+ vs Washington, Oregon & Notre Dame. 178 put up vs Pete Carroll's vaunted USC Trojans. His biggest stage, 203 yards and 3 touchdowns in the season finale vs Notre Dame. Oh and he also thew a touchdown in the 45-38 shoot out with the Irish. Gerhart also set the Pac-10 rushing touchdown record with 26 scores.

It was once said that Heisman's are won or lost on your performance vs Notre Dame. Well Toby might not get the Heisman, but he is the 2009 RoughRider Offensive player of the Year.

Past Winners
2009-Toby Gerhart-RB-Stanford
2008-Colt McCoy-QB-Texas
2007-Kevin Smith-RB-Central Florida
2006-Darren McFadden-RB-Arkansas
2005-Reggie Bush-RB-USC
2004-Reggie Bush-RB-USC
2003-Larry Fitzgerald-WR-Pittsburgh
2002-Brad Banks-QB-Iowa
2001-Joey Harrington-QB-Oregon

No comments:

Post a Comment