2009 Staker Award National Defensive Player of the Year

The Preseason was filled with hype of Tebow, Bradford and McCoy. Thrown in there was Jimmy Claussen and Terrelle Pryor and the Matt Barkley hype at USC. The top defensive stars returning were Brandon Spikes from Florida's defense. Eric Berry, the best DBack in the nation at Tennessee. Also returning from an injury plagued 2008 was DL George Selvie from South Florida. And then there was Ndamukong Suh, returning the black shirts to the Nebraska D.

The 2009 Staker Defensive Player of the Year Award goes to the Huskers amazing defensive lineman. Along with the Staker Award Suh took home the Bo Carter Award for Big XII Player of the Year Award. He was in backfields as much as most offensive backs. A highlight reel of plays all year long. 70 tackles, 16 for loss of a total of 70 yards, 7.5 sacks, a fumble caused and interception. Certain to be a top 3 pick next year, this Husker still has 2 more games left, the Big XII Title game vs Texas and the Huskers Bowl Game.

Past Winners
2009-Ndamukong Suh-DL-Nebraska
2008-Rey Maualuga-LB-USC
2007-George Selvie-DL-South Florida
2006-James Laurinitus-LB-Ohio State
2005-AJ Hawk-LB-Ohio State
2004-David Pollack-LB-Georgia
2003-Teddy Lehman-LB-Oklahoma
2002-Terrell Suggs-DL-Arizona State
2001-Roy Williams-S-Oklahoma

No comments:

Post a Comment